//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

What’s been going on, and why I’ve been so slack on writing (and the new plan for how I’m going to deal with that)

Ok, so as I acknowledged in my previous post, I’ve not written properly here for ages. A bunch of stuff has happened since the stuff that I covered in the last post ( nothing bad or anything), and that’s taken up my time so that I’ve had a backlog of stuff to write about, but not enough time or energy to actually deal with that. So, things went like this:

We got back from tour with Football etc, during which time I’d received 2 job offers, and one that was pending my clearance being granted, so that’s a lot of stuff to be dealing with. Eventually I got the details for all, thought this all through, and then chose one. My start date was at the beginning of August, and at that point it was mid-July, so I actually had hardly any time to make the most of free time before having to join the world of real work and being an adult. In that interim period, the Boy’s band was prepping to record their final songs, and put on their final show, and as I had nothing else to do, I lent a helping hand on this. It  was that odd quiet period of the summer when nothing much was going on (apart from the Olympics..) so we put together a few drawings for cassette covers, a flyer for the show, and some recipes for vegan noms to feed the travelling bands, and anyone else that got there early. Now, to be honest, although that food was awesome (or so people said), I didn’t actually get to photograph it apart from one or two action cooking shots which the Boy got of me. That was definitely fun though, and allowed me to try my first forays in to the wild world of vegan mayonnaise (100% better than non-vegan. Seriously. I don’t actually LIKE mayonnaise normally. This stuff was the bomb, if I do say so myself). I made vegan potato salad, rice salad, and vegan chocolate and banana bread. All of this was supplemented with a tonne of turkish bread (no seriously, there were around 4 loaves that were almost a meter in length each), and dips and crisps ‘n stuff. The bands that played as well as Bird Calls came and hung out, including Ten Speed Bicycle, thanks to the Boy’s campaign to fly Kai back from Germany early so that they could play the show. This was my first time making a flyer for a show since I was 16 too, and that was SO MUCH FUN! It turned out something like this:

As is says on the flyer, the bands were Bird Calls, Human Hands, Lich, Wake Up Dead, and Ten Speed Bicycle, all of whom were excellent as always. The mosh party during Bird Calls was amazing, and everyone went home happy and sad, since it fucking sucks that Bird Calls had to break up, but their send off was so much fun.

After that gig, there was only a week before I started my new job, punctuated by the beginning of the olympics, hanging out with the Boy, and just making the most of my time not having to do anything. I braved the Stratford Westfield to find a pair of work appropriate shoes, and hung out with some friends to look at books and eat yummy food, and I started work. Work is pretty standard really. I work at a university student services centre and answer phones and help people at the helpdesk. The people are cool, the students moderately less so (sorry guys), and the hours work nicely. Hell, I’m writing this at work, so I can hardly complain. In addition to that taking up my time, I’m also making applications to my masters at the moment, so that’s something else to focus on. And using my spare time to still be involved with the punks, hang out with the Boy, and make myself feel like a human being, rather than someone who hates students (again, sorry guys). Recently I’ve done a flyer for another gig, agreed to join a band, and been a little bit ill, as well as having been experimenting with cooking and stuff as usual, and eating plenty of nice food. No further accidental veg breaks thankfully, and further forays in to a bit of vegan cooking too.

From this point onwards, rather than grouping posts by dates (i.e. this is what I’ve been up to most recently), I’m going to start doing them more thematically so that I can cover stuff from my backlog over the summer and also include things I’ve been doing recently, and also so it’s easier to write more frequently. As I said before, I can write at work too so that’s helpful. I’m also going to start talking a bit more about bands and general stuff that’s been going on in the punk scene, to give us some variety and lend a bit more of an opinionated and politicised voice to this blog. Obviously if anyone has suggestions, submissions or comments, they’re very welcome to message me to express them here- feedback is the best!

So, action shots ahead:

 

Hopefully, with a little more planning I’ll be back writing again soon!

 

About newhumanlondon

I am a student in London in my final year, and I want to write. However, despite my wracking my brains for the last 6 months on a theme, I couldn't come up with one, and just went for "everything, influenced by stuff that I find interesting". So that's what I'll write about. For the near future, I'll probably be focusing on tattoos, bodymods, feminism and consent, the Occupy movement, and a little bit of final-year student life.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

