//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Football, etc. and tour part 1

So I was sworn to internet secrecy on this for a long time, and thus decided not to mention it earlier on here (I think…), but the Boy was asked to fill in playing drums for Football, etc. when they came to the UK for their tour this summer. Their old drummer had left, and their new drummer wasn’t able to arrange it at such short notice, so they recruited the Boy. This was awesome for 2 reasons:

  • Football, etc. are freakin’ awesome
  • ego boost for the Boy

It was less awesome for a different reason. Tour. The tour itself was very cool, and I’m sure the bits of it that I missed were amazing, and lovely and fun. But selfishly, I  prefer it when he’s here. Sorry. I just do. I don’t resent him touring or anything, and I love that he gets the opportunity to travel and have fun, but it’s always a bit sad, and tends to take around 24 hours for the two of us to dissolve in to soppy “I miss you” texts, and Total Recall pun-athons via text. However, I knew this was going to happen, so I took the decision to ensure I was adequately entertained and distracted while the Boy was off doing his thang.

I went shopping.

I FINALLY found some vegetarian jelly mix.

And I invited my godmother round to dinner for a catch up.

The other thing that happened that week however, and influenced all my cooking choices and escapades, was a fairly bad veg break. Yeah. I broke. It was by accident though. See, I’d looked in my local Whole Foods for a vegetarian brand of marshmallow, and found a bag that said it had “no beef gelatin“. Now, your average vegan and most veteran veggies will know where I went wrong here, but I got over excited, and bought them. And the proceeded to eat the whole pack. Yeah. All except LITERALLY one marshmallow. When I read the back, to scare myself in seeing how much sugar I’d eaten I noticed. Fish gelatin. Screw the sugar. I almost puked on the spot. After that, and seen as the Boy wasn’t there to chastise me, I decided that the only appropriate self punishment was a week of veganism. Completely cold turkey and with no prep whatsoever. So when my godmother came for dinner, we were eating vegan, and I was cooking vegan for the whole family, and more specifically, for a whole family of very staunch meat eaters. My menu scared them a little. I ended up raiding the Vegonomicon again for inspiration, and went for a dinner of hot-sauce glazed tempeh, onion mashed potato, and sage fried onions. We had strawberries and (oat) cream for dessert. And it was SO GOOD.

Now this was actually the first time I’d made tempeh. It was something I’d bought before, and left sitting in the fridge forgotten about for long enough for it to turn the wrong shade of grey, and get thrown out. So it was an experiment for me too. My godmother was, uh…aprehensive. She was very sweet about it, but tried just a tiny bit of the tempeh before taking any on to her plate. Boy was she surprised. It was excellent reviews all around, and that certainly pleased me.

A few cooking action shots for y’all there.

And this was how it ended up looking on the plate. Before it was devoured. I have to admit, in all the recipes it suggests that half a square of tempeh is enough as a serving for one person, and although I was skeptical when I did all this cooking, I realise with hindsight that the serving they suggested were actually way more accurate than the monster servings I did. There was TONNES of the damn stuff, and I was pretty much eating it for a week.

                   Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Now since this was the first time my godmother had seen me since my birthday, I also got a present! Yay! I had told her I was vegan for the time being, and in her panicked state she came up with something truly wonderful: A pepper plant! It joined my lovely collection of straggly herbs that keep struggling on, on the kitchen window sill. I took this picture in the evening, so obviously it’s dark outside, but normally there’s plenty of light there. I have to say, it’s been producing nicely.

While all this was going on, the Boy was playing in Cornwall. He liked to remind me of this by sending me photos of how lovely it was, but I forgave him, because he called too, and called me cute, so that made it ok.

And Cornwall really is pretty. Unfortunately the venue that he was playing in that night is being threatened with closure now, which is a real pity. If you want a bit more info about that, check this out: http://www.change.org/petitions/wharves-community-to-halt-the-development-plan-of-44-luxury-flats-a-hotel-and-restraunt#

Later in the week, the food madness continued with the leftover dishes. Ok, they were preeeeeeetty much the same as the first thing I cooked. I made little potato and mushroom patties, and had broccoli and scapes with them too. That was the dinner I had the night before the emo festival that marked the Boy’s return to London, and my joining him on tour, and it set me up gooooooood.

About newhumanlondon

I am a student in London in my final year, and I want to write. However, despite my wracking my brains for the last 6 months on a theme, I couldn't come up with one, and just went for "everything, influenced by stuff that I find interesting". So that's what I'll write about. For the near future, I'll probably be focusing on tattoos, bodymods, feminism and consent, the Occupy movement, and a little bit of final-year student life.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

