//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Battle of Wolf 359: End Times

One of the best gigs that I went to in June, was most certainly the Battle of Wolf 359 final show in London before they broke up. The Boy’s band was playing that gig too, and I had been quite keen on going generally too. Since it was a trek to get over to Stockwell, and I didn’t quite know where I was going, I made arrangements to travel with the Boy, and it was 10am on the sunday morning when I got a call from him. Having talked to some of the people organising the gig, he had found out that there weren’t enough people cooking or bringing food for the band yet, and thus, being the nice person he is, the Boy had volunteered his services. Our services, or maybe mine, since he likes to pretend he can’t cook (which isn’t true). To add to this,he had also decided to make a banner for the Battle of Wolf set, with a Star Trek related joke, as a celebration of their awesomeness. So, armed with the internet, my Michelle Obama bag for food carrying and shopping, and ALL the Boy’s drums and merch stuff, we raced around Dalston and down to Bethnal Green to begin our culinary and creative odyssey. Kind of. I decided that if we were cooking something, then it needed to be quick and easy, nice to eat cold, and vegan (since vegan is the standard to ensure that people of the majority of dietary requirements will be able to eat too at these things, and since there is a significant proportion of vegetarians and vegans in the punk/hc scene). With this in mind, I went for Bulgar wheat salad, something which is laughably easy, tastes good, and can easily be made vegan. We ended up making 2 bowls of the stuff to take with us, and I’ll post the basic recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • Bulgar wheat
  • aduki beans
  • cucumber
  • mint sauce
  • hot sauce
  • garlic

Yeah, it’s that simple. Obviously you can add a tonne more stuff, and vary it up quite a lot. We ended up, for the sake of speed and simplicity, just cooking the Bulgar wheat to the pack instructions(ish), chopping the cucumber and garlic, draining the aduki beans, and mixing the whole lot together. Then drizzle some oil on it, and add mint sauce and dabs of hot sauce to taste. It was all pretty simple really.

We also got some pita bread and dips to ensure a more hearty contribution, packed it all up in to my bag, balancing things to ensure they weren’t going to get destroyed in transit, and then focused on our banner.

See? It was essentially punk rock picnic food!

So, the banner. The Boy had the canvas and the spray paint, I had the internet, and a working knowledge of Star Trek. If anyone didn’t know, the Battle of Wolf 359 name is a Star Trek reference, and some of the band’s t-shirts also referenced this. Although originally, we were going for a “5 years of outstanding service” military style reference, we ended up going for the simpler end of the spectrum again.

“In hard like Picard”

Yeah, that happened. Anyone who knows Star Trek will notice that the logo in the middle is unfinished. Don’t worry, I drew the star on to it shortly after taking this photo.
After the gig, the Boy gave Battle of Wolf the banner. Anyone who might be reading this who saw them at Cry Me a River festival in Germany the following weekend may well have seen it. Our baby made it all the way there.

Also, the Bulgar wheat went down VERY well. And it all got eaten.

About newhumanlondon

I am a student in London in my final year, and I want to write. However, despite my wracking my brains for the last 6 months on a theme, I couldn't come up with one, and just went for "everything, influenced by stuff that I find interesting". So that's what I'll write about. For the near future, I'll probably be focusing on tattoos, bodymods, feminism and consent, the Occupy movement, and a little bit of final-year student life.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

