//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Veggie fry ups and yet another academia inspired hangover

Well I left off the last part of this story with the Boy and I going to find out my provisional uni grades. Continuing on from that is yet another hangover story. See, after my results, we went and chilled out for a while, then went out to see Chernobyl Diaries in the evening. The thing is, this was also the day of the bus strike, which anyone who lives in London and experienced that would probably agree was a massive pain in the arse (technical terms here). We had struggled to get to the uni after having lunch in Islington, and then getting a bus anywhere else was a pain. Luckily we were using the tube in the evening, but after the cinema, the general consensus was that the journey back to mine involved less bus use, and required shorter walking distances, so that was where we went. We got back to mine around midnight, where my mother was lurking with a bottle of champagne ready for celebration of my results. Somehow, the three of us ended up sitting in my kitchen, drinking until around 7am. Yeah. 7. A. M. And we got through the champagne, a bottle of wine,  and some beer. I think. It gets a bit hazy at this point. The Boy and I, despite my mother’s insistence that she would buy us breakfast if we could stay up through to 8 or 9 when the cafes opened, decided to crash for at least a little bit of the morning, and woke up around midday. 5 hours sleep is fairly good going in those circumstances I reckon. So we dragged ourselves out of bed, and despite our late sleeping, my mother still took us for breakfast.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t consider it to be one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had. Seriously. It was GLORIOUS. There’s a greasy spoon cafe on Stoke Newington High Road, and it’s called Leo’s (opposite Efes pool bar). It’s been there for years, and it’s amazing. Totally typical of the type of cafe, but just really great. And they have 4 or 5 veggie set breakfasts. All of which are freakin’ awesome. The people who work there are lovely too. They’ve been known to give food to some of the elderly who go there for free too. It was exactly what we needed that morning. I opted for one of the veggie sets, as did the Boy, while my mum had what can probably be described as the world’s biggest cheese and onion omelette (she’s not veggie, she just loves cheese and onion omeletts. Which is cool).

This was mine:

The photo didn’t come out that great because it was a pretty grey day and it was taken on my phone, but good god did that stuff taste good. Hash browns, fried egg, beans, chips and mushrooms. I think it also had toast too but that’s somewhere out of shot. Heavenly combination. The Boy avoided this because of his unadulterated hatred for mushrooms (“they’re fungus!”), and instead went for this:

The blurred thing in the right side is him trying to swear in the photo… Anyway, his was veggie sausages, egg, chips and beans. And obviously the hangover coke. Everyone needs a hangover coke. We’re both disgusting people who smother our fry ups with vinegar and salt and pepper, but to be honest it was needed in order to wake us up.

Kind of like a taste bud equivalent of smelling salts. Only delicious.

This was my mum’s omelette:

See? World’s biggest omelette. Possibly.

About newhumanlondon

I am a student in London in my final year, and I want to write. However, despite my wracking my brains for the last 6 months on a theme, I couldn't come up with one, and just went for "everything, influenced by stuff that I find interesting". So that's what I'll write about. For the near future, I'll probably be focusing on tattoos, bodymods, feminism and consent, the Occupy movement, and a little bit of final-year student life.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

