//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

FootyBalls, Experiments, Tattoos and the looming end of exams…

Oh God I have so much to fit in here and none of it really connects in a logical way. Well, here goes. The last QPR match was kind of a big deal. Not for me, but for the Boy, who is big in to QPR, and was living the highs and lows of their time in the premiership this year. I knew ALL about what was going on with the finals because I’d heard about it non-stop from the Boy and his friends. And I have to confess I got quite caught up in it. It was a nail biter and no mistake. Equally NO-ONE could have predicted what would happen. I’m not going to talk too much about that, because I don’t know enough and there are others more knowledgeable than I on that subject. But the day itself was highly amusing for me. I had an exam on the monday, and was studying in the mean time, but also decided to try making corn bread from the Veganomicon that day too. So sitting on my bed, I had my computer on, facebook chat open for the Boy’s commentary of the match, google open in a different tab, refreshing constantly for the scores of both the Bolton AND QPR matches. I was also surrounded by books and paper and pens for, uhm “studying” at the same time. Because that’s totally what I was doing.

I made jalapeno and garlic corn bread. It was “noms” as all consequent reviews went. Yet another example of the Veganomicon being a well worthy investment. I had it here, bizarrely, with chickpea dhal (from a tin, for less than a pound) and it actually went really well and was quite filling for lunch. I managed not to spill it when the final goals were scored, and not to snort it everywhere whilst reading comments on facebook by the Boy’s  flat mate about hearing his screams of joy throughout their flat. All in all a successful day I think.

 

 

 

Around that time, I also discovered the joys of the vegetarian food available at Barden’s cafe in Dalston. I ate their vegetarian breakfast so fast that I did not manage to photograph it for inclusion here, but that’s just another indicator of how bloody brilliant it was. I wasn’t hungover when I went for it with my mum and our housemate, but I have a feeling it would have been all the more glorious had I been. The breakfast includes steamed spinach, bubble and squeak, toasted granary bread, poached eggs, a fried portobello mushroom , a fried tomato, a veggie sausage, and maybe some hash browns. I can’t remember. I was too excited by the food. What I did manage to get a photo of last time I was there, was one of their “on-toast” dishes, which was mushrooms and goats cheese on toast with avocado. Holy Lord it was a religious experience. I’m not even kidding. It was such a good combination. It even had a little chilli power sprinkled on top to give it an extra kick. I could quite happily eat one of those every day and not get bored. Seriously. That thing is right up there with burritos in terms of food that I could NEVER get bored of. And potentially NEVER stop eating. Even if I wasn’t veggie I would being eating stuff like that. I was SO GOOD.

Later that week, the big exciting news that I also had, was that I was getting my newest tattoo. I’d booked it about a month before on a whim when I found out that Jasmine Wright was visiting from San Diego to guest tattoo at Jayne Doe in Hornchurch. Jasmine does the most fantastic stuff with colour and has amazing range in terms of her art work; she can do traditional as easily and as well and more complex unusual pieces, and is really very talented. I was there to get my parrot done, to complete my thigh which is being reserved for a series of traditional style tattoos, having already been started with a skull and feathers by Baily Hunter Robinson last summer in New York.

Given that Hornchurch is a bit of a trek and I didn’t know it particularly well, the Boy agreed to go with me and “look after” me while I was getting it done, so we headed there together on the District line. Although Essex feels far away the trip from East London to Hornchurch was pretty speedy, maybe half an hour on the tube, but between Bow and Hornchurch it went from bright sunshine to pouring rain and hail. Luckily it had calmed down a bit by the time we go off the tube and started walking but it was still a damp nasty day, one of those weird ones punctuated with five minute bursts of sunshine. Jasmine was running a bit late, so we didn’t get started ’till about half past 5 or 6 (my appointment was for 5pm). I was apprehensive because my previous tattoo had been a huge side piece that took 6 hours to complete and was so painful I almost passed out more than once. It’s beautiful, don’t get me wrong, but the pain was easily the worst I’ve experienced (at least getting tattooed). This was a completely different experience. Jasmine was so much fun, super fast, and did a beautiful job. The Boy stayed and hung out with us for most of it too, and for the first time I was actually able to talk while getting tattooed (normally I just sit there and grit my teeth, answering questions with monosyllables). It took less than an hour for Jasmine to finish, with full colour and all, and was one of the BEST tattooing experiences of my life thus far. And that’s not some spurious claim, from someone who’s still high from adrenaline. The parrot was my 5th tattoo, and I’ve had some funky experiences with tattoo artists, although all the tattoos have turned out fine themselves. Anyway, the Boy and I were so hungry afterwards we hopped over to Westfield and had burritos, having talked to Jasmine about the ones in San Diego and gotten in the mood for them during the tattoo. After that we went home and ate ice cream in bed. Just ’cause.

*This picture doesn’t show it off to its best! It’s from my view of it on my thigh. But here it is, freshly done and looking bright!

About newhumanlondon

I am a student in London in my final year, and I want to write. However, despite my wracking my brains for the last 6 months on a theme, I couldn't come up with one, and just went for "everything, influenced by stuff that I find interesting". So that's what I'll write about. For the near future, I'll probably be focusing on tattoos, bodymods, feminism and consent, the Occupy movement, and a little bit of final-year student life.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

