//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Week One: Sabotage!

Fried rice

Fried rice (Photo credit: anantal)

Ok, so it wasn’t really sabotage. I’m sure what happened wasn’t intentional, and just a matter of something messing up as a result of online glitches and stuff like that. But earlier in the week, I ordered a chinese online for dinner with my mum. It took me ages to decided on what I wanted. Its fine if you’re cooking chinese style stuff at home without meat, but I found that finding things on a menu was kinda difficult; there wasn’t even that much tofu on there! But I found something on the “Vegetarian” section (which was mostly veggie side dishes to go with other meat ones but that’s just me being pedantic here).

I ordered something like bamboo shoots and stir fried mushrooms. I love both of these things. Sounded yummy to me. We got some egg fried rice too. Pretty standard really. It took a while to arrive, as it was fairly late when we ordered, and this time allowed me to actually work up more of an appetite, so I was pretty hungry when it all arrived. We got plates and cutlery, were sitting on the front room floor in front of the tv, and I opened mine. I clicked pretty fast when I saw it, but managed to convince myself that the odd-looking things in there might be oyster mushrooms. However, my determination to not eat meat made me cautious still. I asked my mum to try a piece.

“Its chicken, isn’t it?”

She pulled a face, all pity and apology.

Yup, my “vegetarian” dish was laced with chicken. LOADS of chicken. More than there were prawns in my mum’s curry. And it was too late to do anything about it. The delivery guy had gone, it had been paid for, we had opened it. So, because I was pretty damn hungry by that point, I proceeded to pick out all the chicken, piece by freakin’ piece. It was torture. But by the time I was done I was able to eat my mushrooms and bamboo shoots, and they were good, but I was really disappointed. I had really thought that if something was on the “vegetarian” menu, then they’d be pretty hard-line about making sure it was actually veggie. First proper moment of realising that despite my interest in vegetarianism previously, it can actually be pretty hard to avoid meat if you’re not cooking for yourself; as soon as it comes to ordering off a smaller menu, the choices are contracted considerably. But it also strengthened my resolve. I could have eaten the chicken and let myself off. I talked to the Boy about it and he said I wasn’t as hard-line about it as him, I could have done it and it would have been relatively acceptable in the eyes of others. But I didn’t. So there.

About newhumanlondon

I am a student in London in my final year, and I want to write. However, despite my wracking my brains for the last 6 months on a theme, I couldn't come up with one, and just went for "everything, influenced by stuff that I find interesting". So that's what I'll write about. For the near future, I'll probably be focusing on tattoos, bodymods, feminism and consent, the Occupy movement, and a little bit of final-year student life.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

